I woke up this morning to the pitter patter of rain against the window. The only thing that got me out of bed at 8am was the thought of a hot cup of coffee. Then came the waiting.

9am, 10am, 11am, noon. The rain stopped.

In 15 minutes, I was out of the door with my bike. This was my first outdoor ride since bonking before Christmas, it was a big deal. 3.5 hours around Richmond Park, with a strong emphasis on the hills and riding off the saddle, just like on the turbo but outdoors and in the cold.

An hour into the ride and I was already counting down the minutes. It was damp, there were deep puddles on the road and the wind was a deterrent, especially when going uphill. I hated it. Then my body started warming up, my toes began to thaw and the kit I has just spent a small fortune on began to do what it had promised all along, keep the cold away.

I finally got a rhythm going, settled into a nice pace and had the hills under control. It felt great. And to set the scene perfectly, the sun came out. Reflecting on the puddles of water and warming the air. Heaven. I finished my target and headed on home for a pre-ordered pizza (yes, I’m so good, I can call and cycle at the same time). As coach Fi always says, it’;s about getting out there and doing the miles. Cycling is my worst discipline, but I’m getting there, with the help of John Denver too.

