How long has it been since we last spoke? Too long. But I have been busy: my first sprint race (I’m not good with speed), my second olympic race (disastrous), unholy work hours (think 100 hours a week at least), a zany travel schedule (to match any migrating species), a cancelled marathon (I pulled out) and what seemed to be the bubonic plague (NOT man flu!). I’m glad that’s all over, for now.

The purpose of this post is to let you know that I am back looking forward to the year ahead. What does 2011 bring? A number of cyclosportives, run races and training camps, as well as:

1. March: Abu Dhabi Triathlon (short distance: 1.5km swim, 100km bike, 10km run).
2. May: Ironman 70.3 Mallorca, Spain.
3. Ironman 70.3 Pescara, Italy.
4. July: Ironman Lake Placid, NY.

So I guess I have caught the bug, just like when I crossed the finish line of my first marathon. Except what makes 2011 different to 2010 is that I know I can complete an Ironman and I have some strong races in the pipeline in the lead-up to the big event. My new year's resolution: I am hoping to push myself that little bit more and at the very least, reduce my transition times!

What do you have planned for 2011? Whatever it may be, I hope it’s full of intentional challenges and events that will mark milestones in your life. Happy new year everyone!

