For the last few years, I have lived in a blissful community in the UK. Within a five minute radius, I had over ten close friends. We would meet at the local deli, swim at the local pool, cycle through the local park or meet at the local run club. We were neighbours and we were friends. Like a scene out of “And Then There Were None”, this week, one of the remaining few has also voluntarily decided to leave our little haven.

New relationships, job opportunities, lifestyle changes, break-ups; all in pursuit of new beginnings and an effort to find happiness. I should know.

Through this, I am reminded about how transient life has become. From my peers at school to the university towns I lived in, I have faced those changes. Watching the kids of global CEOs and ambassadors stop by and students on scholarships from around the world. Life stages seemed temporary. Today, with budget flights, the acceptance that no jobs are permanent and the rise of the creative class, everything everywhere seems temporary.

I gave a talk last week at my former school. My panel discussed the challenges the new generation will face in the job market; and being a third culture kid. A woman approached me at the end of the talk and said “isn’t it funny how we are all displaced? It is so rare to meet someone now that works where they are from, where they were born and raised”.

So today, one more little Indian has departed. But unlike the friends we made at school, the focus has not been on the hole he will leave behind, but the moments we shared when he was a short walk away. And the new opportunities we have for visiting him at his newly found haven.

Life is transient after all, but as the days go by, and more people search for their purpose, the world shrinks. It becomes more accessible.

